Visual Thinking 101_74: Do you know what it is like…

To grow up as a visual thinker, and 98% of 4-year-olds are, and not to have learned how to use your mental images for literacy and numeracy and not being overwhelmed by too many pictures.

I do, and the experience wasn’t great. I struggled with spelling and reading all through my education, including university. I was speaking to a mum today of a 20-year-old who is Dyslexic, can’t do maths, and is always confused by too much stuff going on in his head. But he is too embarrassed to ask for help because he thinks he is stupid and can’t be helped; “it’s all too late”. I didn’t spell and read visually until I was 50, and I just don’t want that to happen to anyone else. I asked mum what he is good at and after a couple of questions, she said, “seeing the bigger picture”, “creative problem solving”, “creative and critical thinking”, etc. These are the fabulous neurodivergent strengths common to many neurodivergent students I meet. Regrettably, students don’t often appreciate them as there are simultaneously too many negatives.

Do take a look at the Empowering Learning page, try the free classes to explore your own mental images (even if you don’t think you have any) and your neurodivergent strengths this week, on Monday 18th and Tuesday 19th. After that you can dive into a new way of thinking about Dyslexia, ADHD and Dyscalculia, all for free.

To explore more of the tips and tricks we have for neurodivergent children and adults, do click here. There is even a free introductory video there

My name is Olive Hickmott, I am a health and learning coach, specializing in working with neurodivergent students. I would be pleased to support you in any way I can.
You are welcome to contact me olive@empoweringlearning.co.uk
Here you will find my learning platform for some of my training programmes and free live webinars  www.visualkids.co.uk
You will find other useful information and Practitioner Training at http://www.empoweringlearning.co.uk
Here is my YouTube channel for more free resources: https://www.youtube.com/c/OliveHickmott
My latest books are:
The Elephants in the Classroom: using every student’s natural power of Mental Imagery to enhance learning: Neurodiversity through the lens of mental Imagery.
Bridges to Success – How to transform Learning Difficulties

#olivehickmott #visualthinking #empoweringlearning #neurodivergent #mentalimagery #visual-spatial-learners #neurodivergenttoolkit #Dyslexia #ADHD #Creatingmentalimages #memory, #creativity #mentalimages

About olivehickmott

I am a Forensic Learning coach, showing people how they can improve their own learning and change their health. Working with creative neurodivergent students is a joy, as they learn new skills to overcome many of their learning challenges.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment